Header Image
Home / Trophies / Friday Trophies

Friday Trophies

The following trophies will be awarded to crews winning on Friday.

Boys Events

Cherwell Cup

Junior Under 14 Octuple Sculls

This cup was presented by David Parnwell, who whilst a master at The Dragon School introduced sculling and promoted watermanship on the Cherwell, and indeed encouraged sculling amongst Juniors generally. He rowed in the very first Third Eights and Colts Regatta in 1947 in the St. Edwards’s School Third Eight and was a staunch supporter of, and a great help to the Regatta in general for many years until his death in 2012.

Canterbury Cup

Junior 14 Coxed Quadruple Sculls

This cup was presented by the King’s School, Canterbury in 1983 for the winning crew in Junior Under 14 Quadruple Sculls.


Creber Cup

Junior Under 15 Coxed Quadruple Sculls

This cup was presented in 1987 by the Hampton School Boat Club Association in recognition of the many years of coaching at the school by Tony Creber.


Mariner’s Cup

Junior Under 15 Coxed Fours

This trophy was bought by the Radley Mariners in 1976 to mark their Golden Jubilee year.  It was presented to the National Championships for competition in Junior Quadruple Sculls.  Later the National Championships withdrew all their trophies from circulation and the Mariners transferred their cup to the National Schools’ Regatta, where is has been awarded to the fastest Junior Under 15 Coxed fours since 1981.


Girls Events

Hunter Cup

Junior Under 14 Coxed Quadruple Sculls

This cup was presented in 1996 by George Hunter, OBE, CStJ, KLJ, who was the National Secretary of Scottish Rowing from 1948 to 1976 and then its President until 1984.  He was organising Secretary for the 1986 Commonwealth Games and held office in the Executive of the S.A.R.A. for many years.  He also has been responsible for many of the successes in rowing of George Watson’s College.


Windrush Trophy

Junior Under 14 Octuple Sculls

This was presented to the Regatta in 2008 for Girls Junior Under 14 Octuple Sculls by long term supporter David Parnwell who also presented the Cherwell Cup.  The Windrush like the Cherwell, is one of the tributaries to the River Thames.


Leslie Langton Cup

Junior Under 15 Coxed Quadruple Sculls

This trophy was originally awarded to the winner of the annual race between Lloyds of London and the London Stock Exchange and was presented by Leslie Langton who rowed for Thames R.C. between 1908 and 1912.  The race no longer takes place and the trophy was kindly donated to the NSR by the Langton family in 2004.